Make your own free website on Tripod.com
The Detroit Magazine
Ryan's Fighting Irish Page

Home

MoTown Jive
Sports Center
SPROTS EXTRA
DEADMAN WORLDWIDE
Detroit Postal Service
Legal Notes

CSN: Norter Dame

Nortre Dame

Next Challenge For The Irish

Sat 12/01/2001 Purdue

Cardinal Makes Sure Irish Won't Be Bowling

STANFORD, Calif. (AP) -- Carlyle Holiday had no trouble understanding his surreally bad statistics. It was just that kind of night for quarterbacks at Stanford Stadium.

Kenneth Tolon scored on a 1-yard pitch with 1:08 to play as No. 13 Stanford's slumbering offense woke up just in time for a rain-soaked 17-13 victory over Notre Dame on Saturday night.

Driving winds, intermittent rain and two hyped-up defenses created miserable conditions for both offenses. Stanford's Randy Fasani and Notre Dame's Holiday and Matt LoVecchio all had games they would rather forget -- but Fasani got the ball to his running backs late in the contest, who carried the Cardinal to victory.

Holiday threw a first-quarter touchdown pass but finished the night 1-for-16 for Notre Dame, which wasted an outstanding defensive game with an equal amount of offensive ineptitude. As Holiday's miserable night wore on, he saw the Irish's bowl hopes disappear with his completion percentage.

"It's just one of those things you dream about, but you hope it doesn't ever happen," said Holiday, speaking of his performance but also describing Notre Dame's season. "It's not anybody's fault. We just didn't get any plays that we needed to get."

Casey Moore also scored on a late run as the Cardinal (8-2), ranked fifth in the nation in scoring and ninth in total offense, plodded unsuccessfully through the first 3 quarters under Fasani, whose return after a month out with injuries was fairly dismal.

"Our offensive line started dominating in the fourth quarter," Fasani said. "Those last couple of drives, it was great to hand the ball off."

Stanford put together two impressive scoring drives in the fourth quarter to end the bowl chances of Notre Dame (4-6), which fell to 1-9 in night games under coach Bob Davie.

Tank Williams intercepted LoVecchio's pass with 54 seconds left to seal the victory. Notre Dame completed two passes all night.

"We were completely anemic in the second half," said Davie, just 6-15 against ranked teams. "We couldn't get anything going offensively to break the game open, and we even had tremendous field position. We couldn't make a play. This was a tough way to lose.

"We're 114th in the nation in pass offense, and we looked like it tonight."

On the deciding drive, Stanford went 59 yards in 10 plays, capped by Tolon's easy run into the corner of the end zone. Tolon, playing in place of injured starters Kerry Carter and Brian Allen, rushed for a career-best 133 yards.

Schedule 2k1

Sat 09/08/2001 Nebraska Lincoln L. 27-10
Sat 09/22/2001 Michigan St* Notre Dame L. 17-10
Sat 09/29/2001 Texas A & M College L. 24-3
Sat 10/06/2001 Pittsburgh* Notre Dame W. 24-7
Sat 10/13/2001 West Virginia Notre Dame W. 34-24
Sat 10/20/2001 USC Notre Dame W. 27-16
Sat 10/27/2001 Boston College Chestnut Hill L. 21-17
Sat 11/03/2001 Tennessee Notre Dame L. 28-18
Sat 11/17/2001 Navy Notre Dame W. 34-16
Sat 11/24/2001 Stanford Palo Alto L. 17-13
Sat 12/01/2001 Purdue* West Lafayette, Ind. TBA
Audio Broadcast | FANSlive GameTracker


* Game time is Eastern Standard Time

Click here to view quarter by quarter action of Noter Dame

MENS BASKETBALL: COMING SOON
Thu 11/01/2001 International Select W, 108-75
Thu 11/08/2001 EA Sports All-Stars W, 95-70
Fri 11/16/2001 New Hampshire
Mon 11/19/2001 Cornell
Fri 11/23/2001 Hawaii Pacific
Sat 11/24/2001 TBA#
Sun 11/25/2001 TBA#
Wed 11/28/2001 Army
Sat 12/01/2001 DePaul
Tue 12/04/2001 Indiana
Sat 12/08/2001 Miami Ohio
Sat 12/22/2001 Canisius
Thu 12/27/2001 Alabama!
Sun 12/30/2001 Colgate
Sun 01/06/2002 Villanova*
Wed 01/09/2002 West Virginia*
Sat 01/12/2002 Pittsburgh*
Mon 01/14/2002 Syracuse*
Sat 01/19/2002 Kentucky
Mon 01/21/2002 Georgetown*
Sat 01/26/2002 Seton Hall*
Wed 01/30/2002 Pittsburgh*
Sun 02/03/2002 Seton Hall*
Wed 02/06/2002 Rutgers*
Sat 02/09/2002 Georgetown*
Thu 02/14/2002 Rutgers*
Sun 02/17/2002 Syracuse*
Wed 02/20/2002 West Virginia*
Sat 02/23/2002 Miami Fla*
Wed 02/27/2002 St. John's*
Sat 03/02/2002 Providence*
Wed 03/06/2002 BIG EAST Championship
Thu 03/07/2002 BIG EAST Championship
Fri 03/08/2002 BIG EAST Championship
Sat 03/09/2002 BIG EAST Championship